About Field

Board of Trustees

ABOUT THE BOARD

Field’s Board of Trustees is responsible for the school’s well-being. It ensures that the school remains true to its core values and its mission: Self-Discovery. Skills of Mind. Generosity of Heart. And it is entrusted with the school’s financial health, its long-term planning, and its viability for future generations of students. 
 
The Board is self-perpetuating, which means that following the practice of most fellow members of the National Association of Independent Schools, the Board chooses its future members. They are chosen based on their skills, their demonstrated commitment to Field, their willingness to invest the time and effort required, and their diversity of perspective. Currently, 18 members of Field’s community serve as Trustees. They are parents of current and former Field students, Field alumni, and friends of Field. There are two ex officio, non-voting members, the Head of School and the President of the Field Parents Association. A regular Board member serves for a three-year term, which can be renewed. 
 
The Board of Trustees meets, as a whole, at least seven times per year. Also, the Board participates in regular retreats to learn more about specific aspects of the school and delving more deeply into large issues facing Field and all schools today. Trustees also regularly participate in Field events such as athletic events, assemblies, arts performances, school celebrations, and advancement events.
 
The Trustees handle most of their work through standing committees and other committees that are formed as necessary to meet its responsibilities to the school. Currently, there are seven committees: the Executive Committee, the Finance Committee, the Audit Committee, the Governance Committee, the Development Committee, the Buildings and Grounds Committee, and the Head Evaluation and Compensation Committee. In these committees, the Board draws on the expertise, input, and time of administrators, faculty, staff, and parents, as necessary. 
 
The Board is responsible for selecting, evaluating, and supporting the Head of School. However, it entrusts the Head of School with all the daily operations of the school. The Head supervises all programs and personnel and is the final arbiter of disputes that arise, including all matters involving parents, employees, students, teaching, curriculum, and disciplinary actions. While the Head may, and does, seek Trustee advice as necessary, decisions about the daily operation of the school sit solely with the Head of School.

Board of Trustees 2019-2020

List of 19 items.

  • Will Pecau

    Chair
    wpecau@steptoe.com
    Parent '18, '20
    Employment: Steptoe & Johnson
    Board Term(s): May 2017
  • Jane Angarola

    Vice Chair
    jangarola@chds.org
    Parent '10
    Employment: Capitol Hill Day School
    Board Term(s): May 2017
  • Rindy O'Brien

    Secretary
    rindyobrien@gmail.com
    Parent '00
    Employment: The Community Newspapers
    Board Term(s): May 2017
  • Ryan Katz

    Treasurer
    rkatz@route66ventures.com
    Parent '18, '19, '21, '23
    Employment: Route 66 Ventures
    Board Term(s): May 2015
  • Andy Altman

    aaltmanlondon@gmail.com
    Parent '22, '25
    Employment: Fivesquares Development
    Board Term(s): May 2018
  • Paula Anderson

    panderson@pace-consulting.com
    Parent '22
    Employment:: PACE Consulting
    Board Term(s): May 2017
  • Helen Cymrot '95

    cymrot@gmail.com
    Class of '95
    Parent '23, '25
    Employment: Lincoln Towers
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Anne Foley '96

    Ex officio
    annef@fieldschool.org
    Class of '96
    Employment: The Field School
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Michael Freedman

    mfreedman@grfcpa.com
    Parent '08
    Employment: Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman
    Board Term(s): May 2006-May 2012
    May 2019
  • Laura Hogan

    lbhogan@gmail.com
    Class of '92
    Employment: Pelican Consulting
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Amy Howe

    howe.amy@gmail.com
    Parent '21
    Employment: Journalist
    Board Term(s): May 2017-June 2018 (ex officio) 
    June 2018
  • Sandi Jordan

    Ex officio
    FPA President
    arj1219@gmail.com
    Parent '22
    Employment: Sanofi-Genzyme
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Mike Lenard '04

    mikewl85@gmail.com
    Class of '04
    Employment: Takorean
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Cecilia Lewis

    cecilia.lewis@marriott.com
    Parent '18
    Employment: Marriott International
    Board Term(s): May 2018
  • Nancy Mellon

    nmellon@riverschool.net
    Employment: River School
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Ali Muhammad

    amuatlaw@gmail.com
    Parent '20
    Employment: United States Department of Agriculture
    Board Term(s): May 2018-May 2019 (ex officio)
    May 2019
  • Oliver Nicholas '01

    bigo@wonlove.net
    Class of '01
    Employment: Independent
    Board Term(s): May 2018
  • Cinthia Rozanski

    cinthiar@me.com
    Parent '22
    Board Term(s): May 2019
  • Timur Tunador

    timur@acmllc.com
    Parent '10, '13
    Employment: Atlantic Coast Mortgage
    Board Term(s): May 2014